Dear Friends and Colleagues,

In the spring of 2012 we celebrated the opening of our new Narwhal gallery space with the first Canadian exhibition of Japanese artist Toshio Saeki. We thought it befitting that we conclude Narwhal’s programming with a second and final Toshio Saeki exhibition, which ended this August. The gallery is now officially closed.

Narwhal was created from the shared inspiration and community that emerged from our shop, Magic Pony. It’s amazing to look back and remember our first gallery space opened in 2005, a small storage room connected off the back of our second floor shop. We were motivated by the incredible creativity that surrounded us, and the need for artists to have an outlet for showcasing their work. We started our gallery because we loved the art and we wanted to share and be a part of something special. Fantastically, like all dreams born out of good energy and enthusiasm, the gallery was successful beyond expectations and grew from being a small side project of Magic Pony to becoming the dedicated gallery space, Narwhal Projects in 2009. Over the last eight years we have hosted countless exhibitions, published several catalogues, participated in major art fairs and placed work with institutions and private collectors globally. It has been an exciting and challenging adventure that continually helped us learn and grow.

Thank you to the artists and community for supporting Narwhal over the years. The artists have always been the reason the space existed, and they continue to be our constant source of motivation and inspiration. It has been an honour to share their vision and work. Thank you to the writers, curators, collectors and art appreciators who have shared in our programming. Shared appreciation is what kept us going day to day! And thank you to the fantastic team of people that helped make the gallery possible.

We look forward to continuing our story through new paths and creative channels. Everything is always changing and expanding. It is time for us to let Narwhal return free to the enchanted sea, and for us to explore new possibilities. We will continue to be involved with creative projects through Magic Pony, and this is the best way to keep in touch with our future endeavours. We hope you’ll join our mailing list and that our paths will cross again very soon.

Onwards and Upwards,
Kristin and Steve

With special thanks to Adrienne Kammerer, Alex Heilbron, Alexandra Mackenzie, Alicia Nauta, Alvaro Ilizarbe, Amy Lockhart, Andrew Bailey, Andrew Wilson, Andrew Zukerman, Anna May Henry, Anthony Gerace, Attila Adorjany, Bea Fremderman, Cameron Lee, Carly Waito, Chris Kuzma, Christy Langer, Christian Maychack, Cody Cochrane, Daniel Luedtke, Daniel Rocca, David Jien, Derek Mainella, Diana VanderMuelen, Drue Langois, Ella Selbie, Eli Langer, Errol Richardson, Eunice Luk, Faith LaRocque, FRIENDSWITHYOU, Frohawk Two Feathers, Gary Taxali, Gemma Correll, Geoffrey Pugen, Ginette Lapalme, Hanna Hur, Heather Goodchild, Howie Tsui, Inés Estrada, Irana Doeur, Jacob Whibley, Jamiyla Lowe, Jeannie Phan, Jennie Suddick, Jennifer Chan, Jennifer Murphy, Jennifer Muskopf, Jennifer Rose Sciarrino, Jepoy Garcia, Jesjit Gill, Jessalyn Aaland, Jesse Harris Jessica Polka, Jimmy Limit, Joe Becker, Josh Reames, Josh Thorpe, Julie Moon, Junko Mizuno, Justin Pape, Karen Azoulay, Katie Bethune-Leamen, Katy Horan, Kendra Yee, Kira Shaimanova, Kozyndan, Kris Kuksi, Kristin Ledgett, Lala Albert, Lauchie Reid, Laura McCoy, Lee Hutzulak, Leon Benn, Lisa DiQuinzio, Liz Magic Lazer, Luke Painter, Maggie Groat, Margaux Williamson, Maryanne Casasanta, Marc Bell, Mark Connery Mark Dudiak, Mark Laliberte, Matthew Brown, Matthew Feyld, Matt King, Megan McKenzie, Megan Whitmarsh, Melinda Josie, Melissa Fisher, Melissa Luk, Michael Comeau, Michelle Blade, Nadia Belerique, Naomi Yasui, Nicholas Aoki, Nicholas DiGenova, Nikki Woolsey, Noel Middleton, Noferin, Patrick Kyle, Patrick Krzyzanowski, Paul Hardy, Paul Morgan, Paul Wackers, Peggy Kouroumalos, Peter Hurley, Peter Kalynuik, Peter Mettler, Phil Woollam, Pierre Richardson, Randy Gagne, Rebecca Fin Simonetti, Robert Dayton, Rory Dean, Sab Meynert, Ryan Travis Christian, Sarah McNeil, Selena Wong, Seripop, Shannon Gerard, Sonja Ahlers, Sojourner Truth Parsons, Souther Salazar, Tania Sanhueza, Tara Azzopardi, Tara McPherson, Team Macho, Tessar Lo, Theo Gallaro, The Wild Unknown, Tibi Tibi Neuspiel, Tomas Del Balso, Toshio Saeki, Vanessa Brown, and Yuula Benivolski.